Cracroft's Peerage
The Complete Guide to the British Peerage & Baronetage

If you have found this page useful, why not make a donation to The Peerage Research Trust so that we can continue to maintain and develop Cracroft's Peerage?

| Search this site | Introduction | Contents | The Monarchy | The Peerage | The Baronetage | Untitled Families | Orders of Chivalry | Miscellaneous | Forums | Contact Us | Links |



The Peerage of the United Kingdom


The Prince of Wales

Dukes of the United Kingdom

Marquesses of the United Kingdom

Earls of the United Kingdom

Viscounts of the United Kingdom

Barons of the United Kingdom


All peerages created after 1801 are peerages of the United Kingdom, with the exception of those Irish peerages created during the 19th century to maintain their total number.  From 1801 to 1958 the structure of the House of Lords remained largely unaltered.  Until 1911 the Lords had formal legislative parity with the Commons, apart from the matter of taxation, regarded as the preserve of the Commons.  The rejection by the Lords of the Liberal Government's budget of 1909 led to a crisis which ended in legislation defining the relationship between the two Houses and limiting the powers of the Lords to delay a Bill for two years only.


Although the Life Peerages Act 1958, the Peerage Act 1963 and the House of Lords Act 1999 have affected the structure of the House, no further statute has been passed to change its rights and duties, apart from the Parliament Act 1949, which further curtailed its power to delay legislation.  The Criminal Justice Act 1948 abolished the right of a peer to be tried "before his peers".


from "Aspects of Britain:  Honours and Titles", Office for National Statistics Crown Copyright 2000




ã Copyright: Heraldic Media Limited. All rights reserved.